Long Island History: Getting Started

These public libraries in Suffolk County have local history rooms: 

• Amagansett Free Library - Carleton Kelsey Local History Room
• Brentwood Public Library - Local History Room
• Central Islip Public Library
• Center Moriches Free Public Library
• Cold Spring Harbor Library - Special Collections
• Cutchogue-New Suffolk Free Library - Local History Center
• East Hampton Library - Long Island History Room
• East Islip Public Library
• Emma S. Clark Memorial Library - Rhodes Memorial Collection of Local History by the Three Village Historical Society
• Hampton Bays Public Library - Long Island Collection
• Hampton Library in Bridgehampton 
• Harborfields Public Library - Greenlawn-Centerport Historical Association's Russell B. Brush Research Center  
• Huntington Public Library - Mary Talmage Local History Room
• Islip Public Library 
• John Jermain Memorial Library - The Nicole Seligman and Joel Klein Archive Center
• Longwood Public Library - Thomas R. Bayles Local History Room
• Mastics-Moriches-Shirley Community Library - Virginia La Tassa Local History Room 
• Mattituck-Laurel Library 
• Middle Country Public Library
• Montauk Library -- Archival Collection and Local History Exhibit Center
• North Shore Public Library
• Northport-East Northport Public Library - Local History Center
• Patchogue-Medford Library - Celia M. Hastings Local History Room
• Riverhead Free Library - Perkins Local History Collection
• Rogers Memorial Library - Long Island Collection
• Sachem Public Library 
• Sayville Library - Long Island Collection
• Smithtown Library - Richard H. Handley Collection of Long Island Americana
• Southold Free Library - Whitaker Historical Collection 

In addition, other libraries in Suffolk County usually have local history special collections or archives.  Inquire at the reference desk.