Livebrary Guides: Long Island History: Getting Started

LI History Basics

A Quick Synopsis of Long Island History
more... less...

One view of what happened, what mattered, key events and major personalities in the history of L.I.
Suffolk Historic Newspapers
more... less...

A searchable collection of historic newspapers throughout the county.

Historic Districts and Structures

What Are Historic Districts?
more... less...

Reviews historic property types; federal, state, and local designations.
Suffolk County (U.S. National Park Service. National Register of Historic Places - NY)
Suffolk County - Historic Districts (U.S. National Park Service. National Register of Historic Districts - NY)
Nassau County (U.S. National Park Service. National Register of Historic Places - NY)
Nassau County - Historic Districts (U.S. National Park Service. National Register of Historic Districts - NY)

Long Island & NYS History

Library Services - Local History Rooms

These public libraries in Suffolk County have local history rooms:

Amagansett Free Library - Carleton Kelsey Local History Room
Brentwood Public Library - Local History Room
Central Islip Public Library
Center Moriches Free Public Library
Cold Spring Harbor Library - Special Collections
Cutchogue-New Suffolk Free Library - Local History Center
East Hampton Library - Long Island History Room
East Islip Public Library
Emma S. Clark Memorial Library - Rhodes Memorial Collection of Local History by the Three Village Historical Society
Hampton Bays Public Library - Long Island Collection
Hampton Library in Bridgehampton
Harborfields Public Library - Greenlawn-Centerport Historical Association's Russell B. Brush Research Center
Huntington Public Library - Mary Talmage Local History Room
Islip Public Library
John Jermain Memorial Library - The Nicole Seligman and Joel Klein Archive Center
Longwood Public Library - Thomas R. Bayles Local History Room
Mastics-Moriches-Shirley Community Library - Virginia La Tassa Local History Room
Mattituck-Laurel Library
Middle Country Public Library
Montauk Library -- Archival Collection and Local History Exhibit Center
North Shore Public Library
Northport-East Northport Public Library - Local History Center
Patchogue-Medford Library - Celia M. Hastings Local History Room
Riverhead Free Library - Perkins Local History Collection
Rogers Memorial Library - Long Island Collection
Sachem Public Library
Sayville Library - Long Island Collection
Smithtown Library - Richard H. Handley Collection of Long Island Americana
Southold Free Library - Whitaker Historical Collection

In addition, other libraries in Suffolk County usually have local history special collections or archives. Inquire at the reference desk.

Women's History on Long Island

Long Island Women by Natalie A. Naylor (Editor); Maureen O. Murphy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781557871503

Publication Date: 1998-01-01

Classic and best overview of women's many signal contributions to the history of Long Island, and beyond its borders, under 7 themes: Women Challenging Boundaries; Broadening Domestic & Traditional Roles; Meeting Social Needs & Services; Creating & Sustaining Community Organizations; Expanding Women's Work; Achieving National Fame; Engaging Feminist Activism. Appendices list L.I.'s Nationally Notable Women, followed by a bibliography and index.
Long Island Landscapes and the Women Who Designed Them by Cynthia Zaitzevsky
ISBN: 9780393731248

Publication Date: 2009-03-09

Focuses on the work of 6 luminaries, and 12 lesser known lights of the great age of landscape architecture. Talented women, between 1890-1940, designed half of the grand vistas on the L.I. estates creating and conveying for the owners and those they sought to impress, the sense of gardens of wealth and power and refinement.
Dirt under My Nails by Marilee Foster
ISBN: 9781882593774

Publication Date: 2003-07-21

A college grad of 1994 consciously pursues her family's potato farming, in Sagaponack, L.I., recording her varied experiences and reactions in the Southampton Press and in this book. Flashes of humor, outrage, attachment, and even genealogy range across these enchanting pages.