A licensed practical nurse (LPN) and dementia expert shares structured routines, life hacks, and evidence-based best practices for people caring for a loved one with Alzheimer's to improve the lives of both the patient and caregiver.
People today are not only living longer, but they are also living sicker, making aging, and caring for older loved ones more complicated than ever before. In this extensive guide, caregiver advocate Carolyn A. Brent outlines a step-by-step process so caregivers know what to do and what to ask in every situation that may arise.
Along with diagnosing the ailments, the author gives readers better tools to navigate the many challenges of aging-whether adult children caring for aging parents, policymakers trying to do the right thing, or, should we be so lucky to live to old age, all of us.
Leslie Davidson and her husband Lincoln Ford were enjoying retired life to the fullest as ardent outdoor enthusiasts, energetic travelers, and soon-to-be grandparents. But when Lincoln's confusion became a concern and Leslie began to experience a hesitant leg and uncontrollable tremors in one arm, a devastating double diagnosis completely changed their life.
Provides basic consumer health information about caregiving, types of caregivers, childcare, elderly care, and care for people with serious medical conditions along with self-care tips for caregivers and information about the support services available for caregivers. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Dave Iverson was a busy broadcast journalist recently diagnosed with Parkinson's disease when he decided to do something he'd never quite imagined: He moved in to take care of his 95-year-old mom. He didn't know that his mom's dementia would pose more challenges than his Parkinson's. Winter Stars is the moving story of their ten-year caregiving journey.
A positive antidote to the negative narrative on caregiving, A Positive Caregiving helps those who are caring for older adults connect with their care partners and enjoy life together through positive emotions and engaging activities.
Rowman & Littlefield, 2021. View in Livebrary
Explores the beautiful and complicated mother-daughter relationship in the context of caregiving for an ill or aging mother and offers tips and suggestions for overcoming the more difficult aspects while celebrating and cherishing the more comforting features.
Mayo Clinic Press, 2022. View item in Livebrary
Day-to-Day Living with Dementia offers essential caregiving guidance, including practical tips and resources, techniques for working through difficult emotions, and strategies for managing common dementia-related challenges.
For four decades, this guide has been the leading reference for those who take care of people with dementia. The new seventh edition reflects updates in the field, including discussion of working with home care aides, chronic traumatic encephalopathy, Huntington disease, and promising potential therapies such as electrical signaling and nerve growth factors.
She Writes Press, 2023. View item in Livebrary
Candid and illuminating, Marriott’s story of growth through caregiving will appeal to anyone facing a life-changing crisis.
Though borne from love, caregiving can be exhausting both physically and mentally, which is why it's important to take care of yourself. No matter the time of day, Self-Care for Caregivers is here to help you create a self-care routine that is right for you.
When is it time to move a person living with dementia into a senior living community? How can you lessen the guilt and anxiety that come with dementia caregiving? All of these questions-and more-are answered in this helpful guide through the difficulties of dementia care.
This is the third edition of Laura Wayman's guide for caregivers of individuals with dementia. The book is concise, down to earth, and practical. Each chapter begins with a real-life vignette that the author then analyzes. For this third edition, the content has expanded by approximately 13,000 words, including two new chapters and a section of resources.
Let’s ask ourselves why caregivers' mental health is suffering and explore what we could do differently. When we understand the complexity of this type of caregiving (the chronic sorrow, trauma, isolation, otherness) we can team with them—not vilify them—revolutionizing how we help them, and their children.
The caregiver role often takes people by surprise, leaving them unprepared.
Sometimes family caregivers aren’t ready to transition their loved one to a long-term care setting, but they need temporary relief from their duties to take a vacation, go to appointments or simply relax. Respite care can help—it allows older adults and people with illnesses or disabilities to get the attention and support they need while also providing primary caretakers with a much-needed break, or respite. Such care may even help prevent caregiver burnout.
Family caregivers of people with dementia, often called the invisible second patients, are critical to the quality of life of the care recipients. The effects of being a family caregiver, though sometimes positive, are generally negative, with high rates of burden and psychological morbidity as well as social isolation, physical ill-health, and financial hardship. Caregivers vulnerable to adverse effects can be identified, as can factors which ameliorate or exacerbate burden and strain. Psychosocial interventions have been demonstrated to reduce caregiver burden and depression and delay nursing home admission. Comprehensive management of the patient with dementia includes building a partnership between health professionals and family caregivers, referral to Alzheimer's Associations, and psychosocial interventions where indicated.
With the rising dementia population, more and more programs have been developed to help caregivers deal with the care-recipient as well as their own frustrations. Many interventions aim to enhance caregiver’s ability to manage behavior problems and other deteriorations in functioning, with less direct emphasis placed on caring for the caregivers. We argue that techniques based on psychotherapy are strategically important in assistance provided to caregivers because of their utility for promoting emotional health. This article provides a focused review of such methods used in evidence-based intervention programs, along with the mechanisms of change associated with these methods.
First discovered by Alois Alzheimer in 1906, Alzheimer’s disease (AD) has become a growing global health concern with numerous implications for individuals and modern society. As patients’ symptoms of dementia continue to worsen, they gradually grow more limited in their independence. As a result, family members and close acquaintances often become caregivers for the patient and become more involved in maintaining the patient’s lifestyle. The authors of this research sought to study what motivates caregivers to look after AD patients and the impact of AD on their lifestyles and physical, mental, and social health.
Adequate social support is a protective factor for the mental health of caregivers of children with chronic diseases. Since caregivers are the closest contact of children with chronic diseases, and the mental health of caregivers directly affects the quality of life and psychological condition of children with chronic diseases, the objective of this paper was to determine which interventions and strategies could promote the level of social support among caregivers of children with chronic diseases.
Dementia is currently one of the major causes of disability and dependency among older adults worldwide. Cognitive dysfunction, neuropsychiatric symptoms, somatic complaints, and functional impairment fundamentally affect not only a person living with dementia (PLwD), but also his/her informal caregiver(s), often resulting in a high caregiver burden. A number of variables, including the caregiver's sociodemographic characteristics, the clinical characteristics of PLwD, social support, and the caregiver's personal resources determine the caregiver's burden. The aim of this study was to investigate the associations of caregiver burden in informal caregivers of PLwD with perceived social support, positive caregiving experience, and applying therapeutic communication methods.
The increasing number of minority older adults, and the subsequent increase in family members providing care to these individuals, highlights the need to understand how cultural values contribute to differential caregiving outcomes. Using the sociocultural stress and coping model as a guiding framework, the current study examined cross-cultural relationships among familism, social support, self-efficacy, and caregiving outcomes and examines how these relationships vary as a function of caregiver background characteristics.
Caregiving for a family member or close friend with cancer can be particularly demanding for employed individuals who are juggling work responsibilities while providing care. With an eye toward stimulating research to develop programs and resources to support this vulnerable subgroup of caregivers, this narrative review first describes the financial, work, and mental health impacts of cancer on employed caregivers. Next, critical knowledge gaps are identified and directions for future research are described. The article concludes by formulating an agenda for practice that includes a multipronged effort on behalf of employers, healthcare, and community-based organizations to support and empower employed cancer caregivers.
Caregiving magazine helps you navigate everyday life, find necessary services and locate professional assistance. We give you the information you need to make the best choices during this complex phase of life.
Alzheimer’s TODAY is AFA’s magazine for caregivers of individuals living with Alzheimer’s disease and related illnesses. Each issue provides helpful information from professionals and family caregivers, personal stories from people who have been affected by Alzheimer’s and tips on health and wellness.
Weekly e-newsletter from NAC that brings subscribers the latest news, events, and resources related to caregiving.
FCA’s Connections e-newsletter focuses on issues and information important to family caregivers. The newsletter regularly covers tips, articles, and helpful advice that can assist families with the numerous daily care tasks that caregiving for loved ones presents ― including the often overlooked “caring for yourself.” While much of the content can prove helpful to caregivers nationwide, the events included are local to the six-county region of FCA’s Bay Area Caregiver Resource Center.
Subscribe to the ARCH email list to receive timely and informative respite news in the monthly ARCH Quick News Update. You will also receive notices of new ARCH products, upcoming webinars, policy or research updates.
DVDs
Audio Books
E-Books
Brain Injury Association of America (https://www.biausa.org/public-affairs/media/virtual-support-groups)
3057 Nutley Street #805
Fairfax, VA 22031-1931
Phone: (703) 761-0750
Phone (Brain Injury Information Line): 1 (800) 444-6443
Email: info@biausa.org
As a primary authority on brain injury, the Brain Injury Association of America strives to advance awareness, research, treatment, and education of brain injury and to improve the quality of life of those affected by this diagnosis. Their website provides links to support groups for those with brain injury and their caregivers throughout the country, including national and state specific groups. The national support groups include, for example, a group for caregivers of those with severe brain injury called “Severe BI Caregivers” (www.severebicaregivers.com), and “Hope after Head Injury” (https://hopeafterheadinjury.com/), an online community for those with brain injury and their caregivers that offers virtual support groups, a Facebook support group, and a community newsletter.