Livebrary Guides: Music: Piano

Local Resources

Classical Music Collection At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Index to the classical music collection at the Patchogue-Medford Library.
Popular Music Collection At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Index to the popular music collection at the Patchogue-Medford Library.
New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA)
The mission of the New York State School Music Association is to advance music education across New York State for its membership and students in member school programs.
Long Island Music Hall of Fame
The Long Island Music Hall of Fame is dedicated to the idea that our musical heritage is an important resource to be celebrated and preserved for future generations.
Long Island Youth Orchestra
By bringing together so many gifted young men and women from all over Long Island, the orchestra serves as a cultural and social gathering place. LIYO offers its players a unique opportunity to meet, work with and get to know their musical peers in order to develop an ever-growing musical family that will last them the rest of their lives.
Northport Symphony Orchestra
Our members, who are selected by audition, come from all walks of life. We are music educators, physicians, attorneys, engineers, librarians, business owners, retirees, and college students. Many of us have been playing our instruments our whole lives. Some of us are musicians rediscovering our love for our instrument. One thing, though, is certain: the enjoyment of playing music and of making it accessible to all members of the community through free concerts keeps us together and motivated.
Long Island Symphonic Choral Association
The group’s repertory ranges from the Renaissance masters to the avant garde, and includes premieres of many works of contemporary composers. LISCA has performed in New York City concert halls, and the chorus has toured and performed in Finland, Eastern Europe, Spain, France, England, Iceland, Ireland, Argentina, Italy, and the Baltic States.
Island Symphony Orchestra
The ISO aspires to be a high quality, creative and inclusive orchestra that values artistic challenge and personal growth, and shares its love of music with the Long Island community.
The Sound Symphony
The Sound Symphony is a unique and exciting orchestra that presents concerts throughout the entire year, performed by members of the community, for the community. We offer a series of outstanding programs, both of classical and contemporary composers. We seek to encourage talented young musicians with our family friendly concert every January and solo competition every May.
Long Island Concert Orchestra

The piano is an acoustic, stringed musical instrument invented in Italy by Bartolomeo Cristofori around the year 1700, in which the strings are struck by hammers. It is played using a keyboard, which is a row of keys (small levers) that the performer presses down or strikes with the fingers and thumbs of both hands to cause the hammers to strike the strings.

The word "piano" is a shortened form of "pianoforte", the Italian term for the early 1700's versions of the instrument. The Italian musical terms "piano" and "forte" indicate "soft" and "loud" respectively, in this context referring to the variations in volume (i.e., loudness) produced in response to a pianist's touch or pressure on the keys.

The Patchogue-Medford Library has a vast collection of piano music for you to play at home. There are books on piano methods, simple arrangements, and a very large collection of original classics, jazz, and more. Call the Reference Desk at (631) 654-4700 x. 152 or email us.

Books And Magazines

Information About The Piano, At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Books and other materials about the piano, at the Patchogue-Medford Library.
Music For The Piano, At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Music for the piano, at the Patchogue-Medford Library.

The Best Of Acoustic & Digital Piano Buyer by Larry Fine (Editor)
The definitive guide to buying & caring for a piano or digital piano.
The Piano Book by Larry Fine
Buying & owning a new or used piano
Acoustic & digital piano buyer. Model & price supplement.
Pierce Piano Atlas
"Bible of the Piano Business."
Clavier Companion
Clavier Companion is the only publication in North America devoted exclusively to the concerns of the piano/keyboard performer and teacher. Readers receive the very best in cogent, focused, and practical articles on music and teaching at all levels, in-depth interviews, reviews of new materials, directories of music camps and festivals, and penetrating columns.

Websites

The Benefits Of Playing Piano (Steinway & Sons)
The benefits of playing piano, including sharpening intellect, developing passion and diligence, maintaining an aging brain's health, bodily exercise, encouraging creativity, strengthening memory, mood elevation, calming of the mind, fostering community, and boosting confidence.
Suffolk Piano Teachers Foundation
The Suffolk Piano Teachers Foundation is a non-profit organization of professional music educators specializing in the area of piano education. Our purpose is to involve teachers and their students in a musical community and assist teachers on every level, in attaining a higher quality of music education and experience for themselves and their students.
Association Of Piano Teachers Of Long Island
The Association of Piano Teachers of Long Island or APTLI (pronounced Apt-Lee) was founded in 1966, when 21 piano teachers banded together for professional growth and friendship. Bert Konowitz and Hadassah Sahr were two of the association’s first lecturers and performers. Many renowned musicians have since been guest speakers at APTLI meetings.
American Pianists Association
The mission of the American Pianists Association is to discover, promote and advance the careers of young, American, world-class jazz and classical pianists. We celebrate the beauty of music through America's premier jazz and classical awards.
New York Piano Society
The New York Piano Society, Inc. (NYPS) is a non-profit organization dedicated to discovering and nurturing talented performers whose primary profession lies outside of the field of music performance. Founded in 2005 by pianist Elena Leonova, NYPS seeks to create performance opportunities for accomplished non-professional artists. NYPS provides a nourishing environment through recitals, special events with prominent concert artists, workshops, and social events, fostering relationships between non-professional and professional musicians. Since its first presentation in 2006, NYPS concert programs have been enthusiastically received by a wide variety of concertgoers including both seasonal classical music lovers and new audiences.
International Piano Professionals Association
The International Piano Professionals Association (IPPA), established in the United States, is engaged in all academic activities of the piano profession, such as publication and translation of professional articles, lectures, concerts, teacher training, art festivals, international piano exchange programs and so on. All the tutors and members of the association are university professors, pianists who are active in the international music circles, and all doctors who awarded a DMA in piano. The association is committed to build the most authoritative academic platform for the piano profession.
National Guild Of Piano Teachers
The Piano Guild, as we are called (a division of the American College of Musicians), was founded in 1929 by Dr. Irl Allison. Forty-six entrants participated in the first audition (then called a "tournament") at Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, Texas. Since that time, the Guild has grown to more than 850 audition centers where thousands of students enroll annually in our international auditions, which are held throughout the U.S. and abroad.

Patchogue-Medford Library

Gary Lutz

Email Me

Contact:

54-60 East Main Street
Patchogue, NY 11772

631-654-4700