Livebrary Guides: Music: Voice

Local Resources

Classical Music Collection At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Index to the classical music collection at the Patchogue-Medford Library.
Popular Music Collection At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Index to the popular music collection at the Patchogue-Medford Library.
New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA)
The mission of the New York State School Music Association is to advance music education across New York State for its membership and students in member school programs.
Long Island Music Hall of Fame
The Long Island Music Hall of Fame is dedicated to the idea that our musical heritage is an important resource to be celebrated and preserved for future generations.
Long Island Youth Orchestra
By bringing together so many gifted young men and women from all over Long Island, the orchestra serves as a cultural and social gathering place. LIYO offers its players a unique opportunity to meet, work with and get to know their musical peers in order to develop an ever-growing musical family that will last them the rest of their lives.
Northport Symphony Orchestra
Our members, who are selected by audition, come from all walks of life. We are music educators, physicians, attorneys, engineers, librarians, business owners, retirees, and college students. Many of us have been playing our instruments our whole lives. Some of us are musicians rediscovering our love for our instrument. One thing, though, is certain: the enjoyment of playing music and of making it accessible to all members of the community through free concerts keeps us together and motivated.
Long Island Symphonic Choral Association
The group’s repertory ranges from the Renaissance masters to the avant garde, and includes premieres of many works of contemporary composers. LISCA has performed in New York City concert halls, and the chorus has toured and performed in Finland, Eastern Europe, Spain, France, England, Iceland, Ireland, Argentina, Italy, and the Baltic States.
Island Symphony Orchestra
The ISO aspires to be a high quality, creative and inclusive orchestra that values artistic challenge and personal growth, and shares its love of music with the Long Island community.
The Sound Symphony
The Sound Symphony is a unique and exciting orchestra that presents concerts throughout the entire year, performed by members of the community, for the community. We offer a series of outstanding programs, both of classical and contemporary composers. We seek to encourage talented young musicians with our family friendly concert every January and solo competition every May.
Long Island Concert Orchestra

Vocal music is a type of music performed by one or more singers, either with instrumental accompaniment, or without instrumental accompaniment (a cappella), in which singing provides the main focus of the piece.

The Patchogue-Medford Library has a very extensive collection of vocal music, including piano-vocal scores for musical shows, sacred music for church solos, wedding songs, a wide variety of popular and classical vocal works, and an extensive collection of more than 1,500 books of popular songs containing more than 100,000 songs. Call the Reference Desk at (631) 654-4700 x. 152 or email us.

Books And Websites

Popular Music Collection At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Index to the popular music collection at the Patchogue-Medford Library.
Piano-Vocal Scores For Musical Shows, At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Piano-vocal scores for musical shows, at the Patchogue-Medford Library.
Vocal Music, At The Patchogue-Medford Library
Books at the Patchogue-Medford Library about vocal music, and printed vocal music at the Patchogue-Medford Library.
NATS (National Association Of Teachers Of Singing, Inc.)
Founded in 1944, National Association of Teachers of Singing, Inc. (NATS) is the largest professional association of teachers of singing in the world with nearly 7,000 members in the United States, Canada, and nearly 30 other countries.
NYSTA (New York Singing Teachers Association)
NYSTA strives to provide voice professionals, both locally and globally, with the tools and inspiration needed for an increasingly informed and creative pedagogy. Immense advances in voice science, neurology, psychology, education theory, medicine, and mind/body healing offer new information and techniques from which voice teachers can draw. By making these resources accessible to our members, we foster twenty-first-century pedagogy, rooted in the great traditions of the past, incorporating the new knowledge of our time.
American Choral Directors Association
The mission of ACDA is to inspire excellence and nurture lifelong involvement in choral music for everyone through education, performance, composition and advocacy.

Patchogue-Medford Library

Gary Lutz

Email Me

Contact:

54-60 East Main Street
Patchogue, NY 11772

631-654-4700